trevcan@internets /dev/human $

My *Curriculum Vitae*

Posted on: 03/02/22 11:44:41
Last edited: 07/19/23 17:05:36

name: Hector Canizales
place of birth: United States of America
--- Soft Skills: ---

    -   Full honesty.
    -   Perseverance.
    -   Team Work.
    -   Good communication.
    -   Courtesy.

--- Hard Skills: ---

    -   Java Object Oriented Programming
    -   Linux server administration
    -   Lighttpd static-file webserver configuration and (fast)CGI protocols.       

--- Experience: ---

- Java (+4 years)
- Scala
- C
- bash
- Processing
- English (practically native)
- Spanish (native)
- French (basic)

2022 : two and a half months. Remote. Paid internship. Junior developer.
    @ wiringbits [9]
    I was hired as a junior developer. I worked on learning about the Scala
    programming language, functional paradigms plus OOP. I then started
    fixing bugs here and there in their opensource project <>,
    an online web store scraper.
    I submitted Pull Requests to the project, worked on feedback from 
    coworkers and asked for advice when having doubts.

2019 - present: Learned Linux ! 
    also sysadmin stuff. 
    Set up a lighttpd web server.

    all my website and blog [3],[4],

    are hosted on an old computer connected to my home
    internet modem. 

    The computer runs Arch Linux and  its longest
    uptime has been 80d, 12h, 17m and counting !
    see for yourself!: [6]

    I use a dynamic DNS provider to set it up. Of course,

    I set up port forwarding to be able to set up the site
        over HTTP and HTTPS. Also set up SSH, among a few other ports.

    Also deployed cgit [5], a CGI web interface for viewing
    interactively and diffing different commits and projects.

    I also set up a git over HTTPs repository, on my own. Ton of work,
    web server configuration ain't easy at all!

    I'd love to set up my own peertube or odyssee instance but
    I've failed to do it. I also tried MediaGoblin but 
    containers are certainly hard ! Will update here if I get it

2022: Final Project for Advanced Programming High school class.
    We implemented a web application, using XAMPP,
    basically CRUD, allowing us to update and register
    exam evaluations. 
    It was done in pairs.
    There were data checks performed through javascript,
    then it would submit a form and PHP would register
    it to a MySQL database.
    Github Project: [2]

2021: (2 weeks) Cyber Security Externship at WorkED. 
    Done virtually due to pandemic. 
    Learned about frameworks to make reports and main
    strategies to combat bad actors.
    Worked with real pen-testing tools, Linux, learned about SQL injections.
    Talked to several cybersecurity experts in 
    several fields (private, public).
    Worked with rangeforce platform (<>).
    Made professional reports about previous 
    vulnerabilities, worked in teams, made new relationships.

2018 August - 2022 August: Member of TECBOT Robotics Team. 
    Competes against other 
    highschools, national and international in FRC (First Robotics Competition). 
    Member of the software 
    team and have led the teaching of new students who learn 
    Java Programming for FRC. 
    Our code is on github: [0].
    See also: Our Code for the 2022 FRC Season: [8]
    Tecbot website: [1].

2019: Workshop: •The Science Behind Technological Design: A 
    Human-Centered Approach. 
    With Monica Perusquia as instructor.
    1 week. Undergrad and high school (me) students. 
    First time I installed Linux (Ubuntu) ! Got me very interested.
    Learned Linux, teamwork, reading software documentation, 
    tried out python with some ML. 
    We made a prototype to measure a person's posture + stress 
    + haptic feedback.

2019: Hackathon Fintech Workshop. In collaboration
    with Banca Mifel. Mostly undergraduate students from
    business, engineering, and tech careers. Learned about
    Unity3D, played around with NodeJS and some database engines.
    72 hours.
    In Teams.

--- Education: ---

2023 - 2026: Computer Science Engineering Degree.
    @ UDLAP. Universidad de las Américas Puebla.

2019 - 2022: PrepaTec Multicultural (PTM) 
    @ ITESM
    (3 years) (Classes in English 
    and learned French)
    16 weeks per semester.  Had some classes in 5th and 6th semester
    to get a feeling of my undergrad degree.
--- Contact ---
e-mail: heror0484 [at] protonmail {dot} com


Tags: hireme cv